Ireland

Over the years I have been invited to Ireland by various friends and I finally accepted the invite by my friend Fiona who I used to work with in Australia. I was excited to visit her not only to catch up (because it had been over a year when we last saw each other) but to see her home town of Cork.

It took just over an hour to arrive in Cork and once I landed it was full steam ahead. Only being able to stay a few days Fiona had lots planned. After landing we went to Spike Island in Cobh. It reminded me of Alcatraz but on a much smaller scale because it was a prison on an island only accessible by boat. We took the guided tour and learnt about the history of the island and all the shenanigans the prisoners used to get up to.

After a delicious meal at a cafe in the city and a nap (needed after putting myself into a food coma) we went down to the loch where members of the public can partake in traditional Irish dancing with a band. Fiona and I joined in and it was lots of fun!

IMG-20170706-WA0028
Dancing at the Loch

The next day Fiona’s mum joined us and we went to Kinsale a port town in Cork. It was really pretty and the town was quaint. It was filled with little boutique shops and laneways that reminded me of Brighton. We were blessed with gorgeous weather and were able to have lunch at ‘Bunnys’ which had fantastic views overlooking the sea.

IMG-20170706-WA0031
Kinsale
IMG-20170706-WA0034
Lunch at Bunnys.

We also visited the English Market which for a foodie like me was heaven. There were homemade jams, pickles, gourmet sausages, sushi and amazing baked goods. I had a ‘healthy’ scone with butter which was divine.

DSC_0354
Baked deliciousness at the English Market.

My trip to Ireland would not have been complete without a night out.  I joined Fiona, Micheal (her husband) and their friends for dinner and drinks. We ended up staying out until 2am and I tried my hardest to keep up with them. It was a fun night and I tried my first baby guiness which was delicious!

IMG-20170707-WA0004
Trying to stay awake!

My last day was spent at Mizen Head with Fiona and Micheal. Once we had been caffeinated courtesy of Costa Coffee we set off on a two hour drive to the most south westerly point in Ireland. Mizen head was by far the highlight of my trip. The views were stunning and the natural rock formations were breathtaking. I was a bit nervous walking over the bridge but I was still able to appreciate the beauty of it all.

DSC_0401
Mizen Head Bridge

Although my time in Ireland was short I felt like I had seen some of the best sites of Cork. I feel grateful to Fiona and Micheal for allowing me to stay and showing me their beautiful city.

Leave a Reply

